Banner Viadrina

Profile

Profil-Logo ©BOIM

Borders aim to establish or maintain orders, be they specified in law, handed down through history, or expressed through symbols. Orders, in turn, cannot exist in the absence of border demarcations, whether in the form of lines on a map or as patterns for differentiation in people’s minds. The understanding that borders and orders must always be conceived of in dynamic interrelationships guides the work of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. As a key research institution of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder), the Center initiates and bundles analyses concerning these interrelationships in the social, cultural, economic, and legal sciences.

We see borders as laboratories in which societal developments are concentrated. By focusing our research on borders, societal dynamics can be observed, analyzed, and anticipated especially well. At the same time, we assume that besides nation-state orders and their borders, transnational and non-state configurations of borders and orders are relevant as well. For this reason, we investigate the diverse practices of marking, transgressing, dissolving, and re-establishing borders and the stabilization or transformation of political-legal, social, cultural, and economic orders which that entails.

We are convinced that this is a highly relevant topic for society: in our globalized world, seemingly contradictory processes of drawing and transcending borders, creating and dissolving orders take place simultaneously. Whereas calls are becoming ever louder for nation-state orders and their borders to limit people’s mobility, these nation-state borders are less significant for flows of goods and capital, technologies and knowledge. However, migrants can invoke a human rights order in order to claim their rights within a nation-state. This makes clear that we find ourselves in various orders that overlap, but that can also conflict with each other. Therefore, the question arises when and under which conditions the borders of these orders become important, how they transform themselves, and under which conditions conflicts around borders and orders arise. On which orders are borders based, and to what extent do borders create new orders? What is the effect on orders when borders are set into motion, and what features of borders change when orders are transformed?

We researchers at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION consider borders to be institutionalized forms of creating difference which structure our social world and our orientation in time and space in a fundamental way, thus achieving important accomplishments in creating order. We consider order to be a system which structures our actions and has normative validity, and which is based on drawing borders. Orders and borders are therefore inseparably intertwined – the term B/ORDERS, which we coined, encapsulates this notion. By no means do we consider borders and orders to be natural and given, but rather the result of social practice and the production of meaning, which is constantly becoming, in transformation, IN MOTION. Our multidimensional approach is oriented toward capturing configurations of borders and orders in their dynamics.

By not limiting our work to examining nation-state borders and orders, but also including social, cultural, legal, economic, and knowledge-based B/ORDERS, we expand on approaches from classical Border Studies. This also enables us to avoid methodological nationalism and to do justice to the complexity of phenomena of borders and orders which become significant on the basis of global configurations of technology, knowledge, policies, and economic systems.

The interdisciplinary nature of the research conducted at the Center is particularly significant for accessing the development of patterns of borders and orders in innovative ways – including in methodological and theoretical terms – and for appropriately grasping the complex relationship of borders and orders.

In doing so, the Center brings together internationally established research priorities of the Viadrina both in the field of enquiry „Borders and Boundaries“ and in the field of enquiry „Migration“.

The research conducted at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION links up with the founding mission of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) and develops it further in thematic, methodological, and institutional respects. It simultaneously transfers it into current and future contexts of knowledge and society. Located in the midst of a European metropolitan region and on national borders, the European University represents, so to speak, how the simultaneity of an overlap of center and periphery, of nation-statehood and transnationality, of drawing and dissolving borders are translated into an institutional form. The research priority „B/ORDERS IN MOTION”, which is indicated on the map of institutional research priorities at universities in Germany issued by the German Rectors’ Conference, is one of the key leitmotifs for further enhancing the European University Viadrina.

The two fields of inquiry at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Field of Inquiry Borders and Boundaries ©BOIM Field of Inquiry Migration ©BOIM

Banner Viadrina

Profil

Profil-Logo ©VC BOIMGrenzziehungen zielen auf die Etablierung oder Aufrechterhaltung von Ordnungen, ob rechtlich fixiert, historisch tradiert oder symbolisch zum Ausdruck gebracht. Ordnungen wiederum kommen nicht ohne Grenzmarkierungen aus, sei es in Form von Linien auf der Landkarte oder als Unterscheidungsraster in den Köpfen. Die Einsicht, dass Grenzen und Ordnungen immer in dynamischen Wechselbeziehungen zu denken sind, ist leitend für die Arbeit des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. Als zentrale Forschungs-einrichtung der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) initiiert und bündelt das Center sozial-, kultur-, wirtschafts- und rechtswissenschaftliche Analysen zu diesen Wechselbeziehungen.

Wir sehen Grenzen als Laboratorien, in denen sich gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen verdichten und dadurch besonders gut beobachtet, analysiert und antizipiert werden können. Zugleich gehen wir davon aus, dass neben nationalstaatlichen Ordnungen und ihren Grenzen auch transnationale und nicht-staatliche Grenz-Ordnungs-Konfigurationen relevant sind. Daher fragen wir nach den vielfältigen Praktiken der Markierung, Überschreitung, Auflösung und Neu-Etablierung von Grenzen und der damit einhergehenden Stabilisierung oder Transformation von politisch-rechtlichen, sozialen, kulturellen und ökonomischen Ordnungen.

Wir sind überzeugt, damit ein Thema von besonderer gesellschaftlicher Brisanz identifiziert zu haben: In unserer globalisierten Welt ereignen sich Prozesse von Grenzziehung und Grenzüberwindung, Ordnungsbildung und Ordnungsauflösung zeitgleich und scheinen damit widersprüchlich zu sein. Während der Ruf nach nationalstaatlichen Ordnungen und ihren Grenzen immer lauter wird, um die Mobilität von Menschen einzuschränken, sind diese nationalstaatlichen Grenzen für Waren und Kapitalströme oder auch Technologien und Wissen weniger signifikant. Migrantinnen und Migranten können sich aber auch auf eine Menschenrechtsordnung berufen, um nationalstaatliche Grenzen zu überwinden. Dies führt vor Augen, dass wir uns in verschiedenen Ordnungen bewegen, die sich überlagern, aber auch in Konflikt zueinander treten können. Fraglich ist deshalb, wann und unter welchen Bedingungen die Grenzen dieser Ordnungen bedeutsam werden, wie sie sich transformieren und unter welchen Umständen es zu Grenz- und Ordnungskonflikten kommt. Auf welchen Ordnungen basieren Grenzen und inwieweit schaffen Grenzen neue Ordnungen? Wie wirkt es sich auf Ordnungen aus, wenn Grenzen in Bewegung geraten, und was verändert sich an Grenzen, wenn sich Ordnungen transformieren?

Wir Forscherinnen und Forscher am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION verstehen Grenzen als institutionalisierte Formen von Differenzbildung, die unsere soziale Welt und unsere Orientierung in Zeit und Raum in grundlegender Weise strukturieren und damit maßgebliche Ordnungsleistungen vollziehen. Unter „Ordnung“ verstehen wir ein unser Handeln strukturierendes System mit normativer Geltung, welches auf Grenzsetzungen basiert. Ordnungen und Grenzen sind daher untrennbar miteinander verbunden – was unsere Begriffsprägung „B/ORDERS“ auf den Punkt bringt. Dabei sehen wir Grenzen und Ordnungen keinesfalls als natürlich und gegeben an, sondern als Ergebnis sozialer Praxis und Sinnstiftung, das im ständigen Wandel, „im Werden“, „IN MOTION“ ist. Unser multidimensionaler Ansatz ist darauf ausgelegt, Grenz- und Ordnungskonfigurationen in ihrer Dynamik zu erfassen.

Indem wir nicht nur nationalstaatliche Grenzen und Ordnungen untersuchen, sondern ebenso soziale, kulturelle, juristische und ökonomische wie auch wissensbasierte B/ORDERS, denken wir Ansätze der klassischen Border Studies weiter. Dies ermöglicht es auch, einen methodologischen Nationalismus zu vermeiden und der Komplexität von Grenz- und Ordnungsphänomenen Rechnung zu tragen, die durch globale Konfigurationen von Technologie, Wissen, Politik und Ökonomie signifikant werden.

Um die Herausbildung von Grenzen und Ordnungsmustern innovativ – auch in methodischer und theoretischer Hinsicht – zu erschließen und den komplexen Zusammenhang von Grenzen und Ordnungen angemessen zu erfassen, kommt der Interdisziplinarität der am Center angesiedelten Forschungen eine besondere Stellung zu. Dabei führt das Center grundlagenbasierte und international ausgewiesene Forschungsschwerpunkte der Viadrina sowohl im Gegenstandsbereich „Grenze“ als auch im Gegenstandsbereich „Migration“ zusammen.

Die Forschungen am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION knüpfen an den Gründungsauftrag der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) an und entwickeln ihn in inhaltlicher, methodischer und institutioneller Hinsicht weiter. Sie übertragen diesen zugleich in gegenwärtige und zukünftige Wissens- und Gesellschaftskontexte. Gelegen inmitten einer europäischen Metropolenregion und an nationalen Grenzen, stellt die Europa-Universität gleichsam die institutionelle Übersetzung der Gleichzeitigkeit einer Überlappung von Zentrum und Peripherie, von Nationalstaatlichkeit und Transnationalität, von Grenzziehung und Grenzauflösung dar. Der auf der Forschungslandkarte der HRK vermerkte Forschungsschwerpunkt „B/Orders in Motion" ist eines der zentralen Leitmotive für die weitere Profilierung der Europa-Universität Viadrina.

Die beiden Gegenstandstandsbereiche am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION sind

Gegenstandsbereich DE Grenze ©BOIM Gegenstandsbereich DE Migration ©BOIM