Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

2nd Summer School

Border-related theoretical Perspectives on Societal Orders, Flight and Migration

September 22 – 28, 2019
Europa-University Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder), Germany

 

The Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION launches its second summer school. This year´s program invites post-graduate and advanced students with an research interest in the impact of governmental bordering practices on societal orders, flight and international migration.

You can download the call for application here.

 

Border-related theoretical Perspectives on Societal Orders, Flight and Migration

Questions how to adequately respond to flight and migration dominate current global political discourses, with controversies centering on the formation of governmental border demarcation. The dynamics of state border demarcation, flight and migration movements interact in an ambivalent way. Political-territorial border demarcation constitutes, marks and stabilizes economically, socially and politically differing systems of order. This may create unequal living-conditions and thus provide incentives for border-crossings. Military and armed conflicts about territorial boundary lines generate further reasons for flight and migration. State borders may also establish peaceful orders within their territory – but they may deny access to safety and improved life perspectives for refugees and migrants. Hence governmental borders are multidimensional and bear both conjunctive and disjunctive features.

Political discourses rarely consider this complexity of political-territorial border demarcation. On the one hand, the tightening of borders is rendered important by populist promises of protection for resident populations against (so perceived) external danger and uncontrolled migration. The planned wall at the US-South border and the massive fortification of the external EU border in Hungary are more than symbols for this agenda. At the other hand this hints at the immoral and unethical aftermath of fortification and border closures: Thousands of people are losing their lives when trying to reach other countries in search for safety and protection against persecution.

 

Topical Foci of the Program

The summer school will theoretically and methodologically amplify effects of governmental border demarcation on societal orders, flight and migration. Five topical foci are at core:

·   First, a conceptual understanding of state borders and their features as functional membrane, symbolic promises of order and protection as well as identity constituting institution. How do these differing aspects interact, what are the effects of their interdependency on the making of political-territorial borders?

·  Second, perspectives on cross-border state-cooperation in regard to their effect on bordering practices. In order to reach cohesion of Euro-regions across national borders, the EU launches enormous political, juridical and financial resources. These interrelated spaces exceed the competency of nation-states and form their own “spaces of power”. How do these altered political contexts change the making and efficacy of borders?

·  Third, social practices of doing and undoing borders are critically discussed (e.g. in regard to interaction, narration, materiality). Of special interest are the social practices which create, reestablish or undermine borders.

·  Forth, the border as an institution of status allocation and social positioning will be examined.

As border-crossings entails a status change for subjects (e.g. when citizens are being made to foreigners), the question at heart is where and how the negotiation of migrant´s status takes place. In what way does this relate to societal orders and the border regime?

·  Fifth, questions are being raised about the transformative impact of border-crossing flight and migration movements on societal order and political bordering processes. Migrants should not be perceived as objects of governmental measures, but as subjects with agency. What effects do their practices of resistance have on the maintenance or transformation of societal orders and bordering processes?

The combination of these approaches highlights the interdependency of foci (usually studied in isolation in border studies). Furthermore, we want to reflect on the possibility of fair border arrangements and their interaction on societal orders, flight and migration.

 

Target Audience

The summer school aims at German speaking graduate and advanced students worldwide, who focus on effects of state-border demarcation on societal order, flight and migration. Applicants should have delved into at least one of the core foci more intensively. Furthermore, it is expected that students have an interest in the development of teaching didactics and interdisciplinary exchange within an international learning group. Participants are required to have good German and English language skills.

 

The Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

The Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION is a central research institution of the University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder). The scientific work at the Center is guided by the basic premise to explore the interaction of borders and orders. Bordering processes facilitate the establishing or maintaining of societal orders, which are legally fixed, passed on historically and being expressed symbolically. Orders need border demarcation. We perceive borders as “laboratories” which condense societal developments and therefore allow to study, analyze and anticipate them. As an interdisciplinary institute, the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION initiates and consolidates social, economic and legal analyses of the interaction of borders and orders. The center encourages scientific exchange by organizing workshops, conferences and the lecture series „Research Factory”. The summer school is part of this schedule promoting the advance of young scholars.

 

About the summer school´s program

The summer school´s Program contains a mixture of various formats which facilitate acquisition and consolidation of knowledge and practice-oriented skills. Renowned scientists from the field of border studies will delve into the five core aspects within their lectures. A continuous tutorial provides space to read selected key texts and discuss with researchers of the Viadrina Centers B/ORDERS IN MOTION. All participants are invited to introduce their own research projects or ideas within speed-presentations. In topic-centered working-groups and together with didactics-professionals, participants will conceptualize and present a border-related tutorial. In the course of the summer school, visits of the Berlin Wall Memorial and the German-polish border are planned.

Apart from a few lectures in English the summer school will be held in German.

 

Further information

The number of participants is limited to 20 persons. There is no fee required for attending the summer school. For non-residing participants costs for accommodation in a dormitory located in close-by Słubice (Poland) are covered and a daily lunch at the refectory is provided. Participants have to cover the costs for their travelling to and from the summer school by themselves. In case no other institutional funding for travel costs is at hand, participants may apply for a subsidy of travel expenses by the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. The possibility and size of a travel grant will depend on the available funds of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. Please note in your motivational letter whether you apply for a travel subsidy. 

 

For more information: sommerschule-borders@europa-uni.de

Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

2. Sommerschule B/ORDERS IN MOTION 2019

Grenztheoretische Perspektiven auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen, Flucht und Migration


22. - 28. September 2019
Europa-Universität Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder)

Das Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) organisiert seine zweite Sommerschule. Das Angebot richtet sich in diesem Jahr an Promovierende und fortgeschrittene Studierende, die sich mit den Effekten staatlicher Grenzziehungen auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen, Flucht und internationale Migration beschäftigen.


Grenztheoretische Perspektiven auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen, Flucht und Migration
Die Frage eines angemessenen Umgangs mit Flucht und Migration dominiert die politischen Debatten auf der ganzen Welt. Und im Zentrum der Kontroversen steht die Gestaltung staatlicher Grenzziehungen. Die Dynamiken staatlicher Grenzziehungen und Flucht- und Migrationsbewegungen interagieren in ambivalenter Weise. Politisch-territoriale Grenzziehungen konstituieren, markieren und stabilisieren ökonomisch, sozial und politisch differente Ordnungen, die ungleiche Lebensverhältnisse produzieren können und so Anreize für grenzüberschreitende Wanderungen setzen. Militärische Konflikte um territoriale Grenzverläufe bilden eine zusätzliche Ursache für Flucht und Migration. Staatsgrenzen ermöglichen aber auch das Bestehen friedlicher Ordnungen im Innern - und können Flüchtenden und Migrant*innen zugleich den Zugang zu Schutz und besseren Lebensperspektiven verwehren. Staatsgrenzen sind somit multidimensional. Sie können gleichzeitig trennende und verbindende Funktionen ausüben.  

In den politischen Diskursen wird diese Komplexität politisch-territorialer Grenzziehungen unzureichend berücksichtigt. Auf der einen Seite wird die Befestigung von Staatsgrenzen zum populistischen Versprechen auf Schutz der eigenen Bevölkerung vor externen Gefahren und unkontrollierter Zuwanderung. Zum Beispiel plant die Regierung in den USA den Bau einer Mauer an der Südgrenze mit Mexiko. Und die ungarische Regierung hat die Außengrenze der EU mit einem Zaun befestigt.
Auf der anderen Seite wird darauf hingewiesen, dass die Schließung und Militarisierung der Staatsgrenzen moralisch und ethisch nicht zu rechtfertigende Folgen habe. Tausende von Menschen verlieren ihr Leben beim Versuch, auf der Suche nach Schutz vor Verfolgung oder einem besseren Leben in ein anderes Land zu gelangen.

Ausgewählte Themenstellungen
Die Sommerschule B/ORDERS IN MOTION 2019 befasst sich theoretisch und methodisch vertieft mit Fragen der Auswirkungen staatlicher Grenzziehung auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen, Flucht und Migration.

Erstens geht es um eine konzeptionelle Bestimmung der Staatsgrenze und ihrer Funktionen als praktisch wirksame Membran, als symbolisches Versprechen auf Ordnung und Schutz, sowie als identitätsstiftende Institution. Wie interagieren diese unterschiedlichen Dimensionen und welche Effekte ergeben sich aus diesen Wechselwirkungen auf die Gestaltung der politisch-territorialen Grenze?  

Zweitens wird die Staatsgrenze mit Blick auf grenzüberschreitende Kooperation betrachtet. Die Europäische Union setzt enorme politische, rechtliche und finanzielle Ressourcen ein, um den Zusammenhalt grenzüberschreitender Euro-Regionen zu erreichen. Diese Verflechtungsräume überlagern nationalstaatliche Kompetenzräume und bilden eigene „spaces of power“. Wie beeinflussen diese veränderten Kontexte die Gestaltung und Wirkmächtigkeit von Grenzen?

Drittens werden soziale Praktiken des Grenzziehens und Aneignens von Grenzen (anhand von Interaktionen, Narrativen, Materialität u.a.) betrachtet. Gefragt wird danach, wie und durch welche sozialen Praktiken Grenzen hergestellt, aktualisiert oder auch unterlaufen werden.

Viertens werden die Status zuweisende Funktion von Grenzen und die damit verbundenen sozialen Positionierungen in den Blick genommen. Da ein Grenzübertritt auch immer mit einer Statusveränderung verbunden ist – z.B. werden Bürger*innen zu Ausländer*innen -, soll gefragt werden, wo und wie der Status von Migrant*innen verhandelt wird. Inwieweit gibt dies Rückschlüsse auf die Veränderung der gesellschaftlichen Ordnung und des Grenzregimes?  

Und fünftens wird nach der transformativen Wirkung grenzüberschreitender Flucht und Migration auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen und politische Grenzziehungen gefragt. Migrant*innen sind keine bloßen Objekte staatlicher Maßnahmen, sondern handlungsfähige Akteure. Welche Auswirkungen haben ihre widerständigen Praktiken auf die Aufrechterhaltung bzw. Veränderung bestehender gesellschaftlicher Ordnungen und Grenzziehungen?  

Mit der Kombination dieser Zugänge werden die Wechselwirkungen dieser – in der aktuellen Grenzforschung zumeist isoliert behandelten – Themenstellungen erkennbar und in produktiver Weise in die Reflexion über eine fairere Gestaltung von Grenzarrangements und die Auswirkungen auf gesellschaftliche Ordnungen, Flucht und Migration eingebracht.

Das Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION
Das Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION ist eine zentrale Forschungseinrichtung der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder). Für die Arbeit des Centers ist die Einsicht leitend, dass Grenzen und Ordnungen immer in dynamischen Wechselbeziehungen zu denken sind. Grenzziehungen zielen auf die Etablierung oder Aufrechterhaltung von Ordnungen, die rechtlich fixiert, historisch tradiert oder symbolisch zum Ausdruck gebracht werden. Ordnungen wiederum kommen nicht ohne Grenzmarkierungen aus. Grenzen können als „Laboratorien“ gesehen werden, in dem sich gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen verdichten und dadurch besonders gut beobachtet, analysiert und antizipiert werden können. Das Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION initiiert und bündelt als interdisziplinäres Institut sozial-, kultur-, wirtschafts- und rechtswissenschaftliche Analysen zu den Wechselverhältnissen von Grenzen und Ordnungen. Es organisiert den wissenschaftlichen Austausch durch die Ausrichtung von Workshops, Tagungen und der Vortragsreihe „Research Factory“. Die Sommerschule ist Teil der vielfältigen Angebote des Centers zur Förderung junger Wissenschaftler*innen.

Zum Programm der Sommerschule
Das Programm der Sommerschule umfasst eine Mischung verschiedener Formate, die Erwerb und Vertiefung von Wissen sowie von praxisrelevanten Kenntnissen ermöglicht. International renommierte Grenzforscher*innen werden in Vorträgen die oben genannten Aspekte eingehender behandeln. In einem durchlaufenden Seminar wird die Gruppe ausgewählte Schlüsseltexte zu den oben genannten Themenstellungen lesen und mit Forschenden des Viadrina Centers B/ORDERS IN MOTION diskutieren. Alle Teilnehmenden haben die Möglichkeit, eigene Forschungsideen oder -projekte im Format der Speed-Presentation vorzustellen. In themenspezifischen Arbeitsgruppen werden die Teilnehmenden unter professioneller Anleitung eine Lehreinheit didaktisch konzipieren und abschließend in der Sommerschule präsentieren. Weiterhin geplant sind geführte Besichtigungen der Gedenkstätte Berliner Mauer und der deutsch-polnischen Grenze. Die Sommerschule wird in deutscher Sprache durchgeführt. Einige Vorträge werden in englischer Sprache gehalten.

 

Programm: https://www.borders-in-motion.de/programm-der-sommerschule

Kontakt: sommerschule-borders@europa-uni.de