Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Borders aim to establish or maintain orders, be they specified in law, handed down through history, or expressed through symbols. Orders, in turn, cannot exist in the absence of border markings, whether in the form of lines on a map or as patterns for differentiation in people’s minds. The understanding that borders and orders must always be conceived of in dynamic interrelationships guides the work of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. As a key research institution of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder), the Center initiates and bundles analyses concerning these interrelationships in the social, cultural, economic, and legal sciences.

We see borders as laboratories in which societal developments are concentrated. By focusing our research on borders, societal dynamics can be observed, analyzed, and anticipated especially well. At the same time, we assume that besides nation-state orders and their borders, transnational and non-state configurations of borders and orders are relevant as well. For this reason, we investigate the diverse practices of marking, transgressing, dissolving, and reestablishing borders and the stabilization or transformation of political-legal, social, cultural, and economic orders which that entails.
We are convinced that this is a highly relevant topic for society: in our globalized world, seemingly contradictory processes of drawing and transcending borders, creating and dissolving orders take place simultaneously. Whereas calls are becoming ever louder for nation-state orders and their borders to limit people’s mobility, these nation-state borders are less significant for flows of goods and capital, technologies and knowledge. However, migrants too can invoke a human rights order in order to claim their rights within a nation-state. This makes clear that we find ourselves in various orders that overlap, but that can also conflict with each other. That is why it is questionable when and under which conditions the borders of these orders become important, how they transform themselves, and under which conditions conflicts around borders and orders arise. On which orders are borders based, and to what extent do borders create new orders? What is the effect on orders when borders are moved, and what features of borders change when orders are transformed?

Research approaches

We researchers at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION consider borders to be institutionalized forms of creating difference which structure our social world and our orientation in time and space in a fundamental way, thus achieving important accomplishments in creating order. We consider order to be a system which structures our actions and has normative validity, and which is based on drawing borders. Orders and borders are therefore inseparably intertwined – the term B/ORDERS, which we coined, encapsulates this notion. By no means do we consider borders and orders to be natural and given, but rather the result of social practice and the production of meaning, which is constantly becoming, in transformation, IN MOTION. Our multidimensional approach is oriented toward capturing configurations of borders and orders in their dynamics.
By not limiting our work to examining nation-state borders and orders, but also including social, cultural, legal, economic, and knowledge-based B/ORDERS, we expand on approaches from classical border studies. This also enables us to avoid methodological nationalism and to do justice to the complexity of phenomena of borders and orders which become significant on the basis of global configurations of technology, knowledge, policies, and economic systems.
The interdisciplinary nature of the research conducted at the Center is particularly significant for accessing the development of patterns of borders and orders in innovative ways – including in methodological and theoretical terms – and for appropriately grasping the complex relationship of borders and orders. Besides basic research in the field of inquiry Borders and Boundaries, the Center brings together internationally established research priorities of the Viadrina in the fields of inquiry Migration, Work, and Conflict.
The research conducted at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION links up with the founding mission of the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) and develops it further in thematic, methodological, and institutional respects. It simultaneously transfers it into current and future contexts of knowledge and society. Located in the midst of a European metropolitan region and on old national borders, the European University represents, so to speak, how the simultaneity of an overlap of center and periphery, of nation-statehood and transnationality, of drawing and dissolving borders are translated into an institutional form. The research priority “B/ORDERS IN MOTION”, which is indicated on the map of institutional research priorities at universities in Germany issued by the German Rectors’ Conference, is one of the key leitmotifs for further enhancing the European University Viadrina.

The four fields of inquiry at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

BORDERS AND BOUNDARIES

The field of inquiry Borders and Boundaries, which is situated at the Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION, is concerned with researching political-territorial borders, in particular nation-state borders, as well as the borders drawn between (business) organizations, social groups, ethnic groups, generations, and genders, and also knowledge borders. In this context, we consider the merger of classical border studies – focusing on political-territorial borders – with sociocultural boundary studies particularly relevant, especially as international research has paid far too little attention to connecting these two lines of research.

Three key perspectives for research and analysis appear especially productive for examining the relationship between border and order, and they can also be transferred to the other fields of inquiry (Migration, Work, Conflict):

a) Borders, notions of order, and constellations of borders

Firstly, it is a key perspective to take the ideas and systems of order behind the processes of drawing borders into account. This enables us to develop a deeper understanding of the borders and orders in question. Borders are not only functions of orders, but are also ordered themselves. This also raises the question about the quality of the borders themselves, for example their durability and permeability.

Analyzing borders from a perspective of order reveals the multidimensional processes of ordering, categorizing, and delineating through which objects, persons, or also periods of time are differentiated and often placed in a hierarchy. These processes are based on a complex interplay of practices, discourses, networks, and infrastructures. If the formation and (re-)creation of orders is to be made accessible to experience and analysis, it is useful to take processes of negotiation and transfer into account and to ask how various actors are involved in guiding and experiencing them. A heterogeneous constellation of state, private, and corporate actors plays a role at nation-state borders, for example in the area of border security; this constellation constitutes the nation-state’s order of borders on the basis of various discourses on security as well as material and immaterial practices and infrastructures.

b) The interplay of various dynamics of bordering and ordering

Secondly, we are interested in the interplay of bordering and ordering, which can overlap, intensify, or also dissolve each other. Based on the insight that we refer to various orders and borders in our social world simultaneously – besides the national systems of order also the European and global ones, and besides political-territorial borders also legal, economic, and cultural ones – we pose the question as to the relationship between these various orders and their borders. For example, we can ask to what extent various orders meet at borders and are placed in a relationship – be it hierarchical or otherwise – to each other. It may be relevant whether a political-territorial border is coded in multiple ways. A border may not only define the territory of a nation-state, but may also establish the external border of the EU.

c) The liminality of borders and the re-creation of orders

Thirdly, we are interested in the liminality of borders. As borders are created by various actors and institutions, it is noteworthy that they are not always unambiguous. Contradictions and conflicts can emerge if orders overlap or if borders are unclear – if, for example, the political-territorial border is not (unambiguously) identical to a language boundary or if globalized business relationships and transnational social interlinkages run counter to national rights and social orders. When systems of orders overlap, this may bring about borderlands or intermediate spaces or liminal spaces – at times unintentionally. They are ambivalent: on the one hand, they may engender insecurities, disempowerment, and precariousness. On the other, they are productive spaces of opportunity from which new orders – or also third orders, hybrid orders – may emerge. These processes of reordering, of (re-)shaping and creating orders can be analyzed employing a perspective of borders. Since new orders that emerge in liminal border zones can also become relevant for the centers, examining these zones makes it possible to anticipate developments of general importance.

MIGRATION

The interdisciplinary research on migration at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION explores the relationship, constituted by borders, between social orders and migration. The purpose is to gain a deeper understanding of the relevance of borders for regulating human mobility and for migrants’ agency, and the change of social order resulting from it.

We are interested in how borders are becoming a method for categorizing and classifying people – for example, in terms of their background, culture, ethnic group, gender, education, class, and utility to the labor market – in order to channel their mobility and to assign them specific spatial, social, and temporal positions within an order. In this way, state borders operate as semipermeable membranes that open up access and rights to some while refusing them to others.

In this context, borders are not to be understood solely in political-territorial terms. Instead, it is also about social and discursive borders as well as administrative or legal barriers that result in the inclusion and exclusion of migrants by the state and within society. Even if the function of controls on persons has ceased to exist within the EU and political-territorial borders seem to be less effective, migrants encounter multiple successive barriers even beyond the state borders, which can be localized.

For our approach, the question is particularly interesting how spatial, social, and temporal dimensions of borders are intertwined. For example, territorial borders can influence the speed of mobility in temporal terms and can mean that migrants have to wait. For political reasons, transit centers create different time-spaces for the various people housed there. Borders can also open up spaces of violence in which people are without rights for indeterminate periods. Other examples of borders that can be localized include urban and rural residential areas that differ in terms of their varying infrastructures or also the social status of their residents.

For our research, it is also of interest how borders between various orders either overlap or conflict with each other and how this can impact migrants and their positions in systems of order. This is the case, for example, when nation-states’ sovereign claims collide with universal human rights.

LABOR

The interdisciplinary research on labor situated at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION examines which borders and transgressions of boundaries determine (gainful) labor and to what extent they, in turn, constitute organizations, businesses, and companies, but also (cultural, legal, economic, social, and political) orders. This, in turn, raises the question how labor organization and order are interconnected, for example by regulations which define access to and exclusion from labor and the social rights linked to it.

The globalization of the economic system and capital across the territorial borders of states and the transnationalization of labor markets this entails, for example through labor migration, also raises the important research question about the impacts this interplay of transgressing and delineating borders has, and has had, on labor organization(s) and workers’ rights.

New forms of organizing gainful work in the age of globalization, digitalization, and changing gender orders are often described using the concept of the boundaryless workplace, be it in relation to the companies whose boundaries are blurred through the outsourcing of labor or also of the places where labor is performed, or in relation to work time and free time resulting from the disappearing delineation between private life and work life. Interdisciplinary perspectives on the organizational forms of labor as an order, on the limits of these orders, and on legal concepts as (re)constructions of such delineations can enable innovative insights here.

An important area of research in this context deals with the questions around the legal classification of salaried employment and self-employment. Further research areas are the examination of technological change, new management strategies, and the changes in societal values.

Research on the borders of private organizations, and here especially private businesses and companies that create order and vice versa is of particular interest. One example of this is the relationship between the orders of private businesses, which are constituted according to private law and contracts, and state or other legal orders. This refers to the development of borders between private businesses on the one hand and, on the other, different organizations of salaried employment in multilevel systems or in systems in which legal pluralism prevails and in which private, state, church, and/or international and supranational/European law are intertwined.

CONFLICT

The interdisciplinary research on the subject of conflict situated at the Center has the goal of analyzing what happens when normative claims collide in particular situations and thus takes new perspectives on the interaction between negotiations of orders and of borders.

Conflicts escalate because certain red lines are transgressed in processes of negotiation between the parties to a conflict. This sheds light on the normative frameworks of order adopted by the parties to a conflict and by potential third parties which must be defined and negotiated (anew). The research project “Tough Choices. Dilemmas and Decisions in Peacemaking” identifies generalizable borders of acceptability whose transgression brings about an imbalance of individual orders or compromises them in their core principles.

The project also examines whether fundamental values and needs for action are placed in a hierarchy on the basis of a multilevel system, which may involve certain strategies for action or also a dilemma. Borders are always interactive and involve various actors in different roles: for example, governments, religious, moral, and political groupings, or international organizations. The purpose is to develop a better understanding of the various actors’ perspectives and to trace when and how borders are created within the course of a conflict, and when and how they become important or unimportant (again).

Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Grenzziehungen zielen auf die Etablierung oder Aufrechterhaltung von Ordnungen, ob rechtlich fixiert, historisch tradiert oder symbolisch zum Ausdruck gebracht. Ordnungen wiederum kommen nicht ohne Grenzmarkierungen aus, sei es in Form von Linien auf der Landkarte oder als Unterscheidungsraster in den Köpfen. Die Einsicht, dass Grenzen und Ordnungen immer in dynamischen Wechselbeziehungen zu denken sind, ist leitend für die Arbeit des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION. Als zentrale Forschungseinrichtung der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) initiiert und bündelt das Center sozial-, kultur-, wirtschafts- und rechtswissenschaftliche Analysen zu diesen Wechselbeziehungen.

Wir sehen Grenzen als Laboratorien, in denen sich gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen verdichten und dadurch besonders gut beobachtet, analysiert und antizipiert werden können. Zugleich gehen wir davon aus, dass neben nationalstaatlichen Ordnungen und ihren Grenzen auch transnationale und nicht-staatliche Grenz-Ordnungs-Konfigurationen relevant sind. Daher fragen wir nach den vielfältigen Praktiken der Markierung, Überschreitung, Auflösung und Neu-Etablierung von Grenzen und der damit einhergehenden Stabilisierung oder Transformation von politisch-rechtlichen, sozialen, kulturellen und ökonomischen Ordnungen.

Wir sind überzeugt, damit ein Thema von besonderer gesellschaftlicher Brisanz identifiziert zu haben: In unserer globalisierten Welt ereignen sich Prozesse von Grenzziehung und Grenzüberwindung, Ordnungsbildung und Ordnungsauflösung zeitgleich und scheinen damit widersprüchlich zu sein. Während der Ruf nach nationalstaatlichen Ordnungen und ihren Grenzen immer lauter wird, um die Mobilität von Menschen einzuschränken, sind diese nationalstaatlichen Grenzen für Waren und Kapitalströme oder auch Technologien und Wissen weniger signifikant. Migrantinnen und Migranten können sich aber auch auf eine Menschenrechtsordnung berufen, um nationalstaatliche Grenzen zu überwinden. Dies führt vor Augen, dass wir uns in verschiedenen Ordnungen bewegen, die sich überlagern, aber auch in Konflikt zueinander treten können. Fraglich ist deshalb, wann und unter welchen Bedingungen die Grenzen dieser Ordnungen bedeutsam werden, wie sie sich transformieren und unter welchen Umständen es zu Grenz- und Ordnungskonflikten kommt. Auf welchen Ordnungen basieren Grenzen und inwieweit schaffen Grenzen neue Ordnungen? Wie wirkt es sich auf Ordnungen aus, wenn Grenzen in Bewegung geraten, und was verändert sich an Grenzen, wenn sich Ordnungen transformieren?

Forschungsansätze

Wir Forscherinnen und Forscher am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION verstehen Grenzen als institutionalisierte Formen von Differenzbildung, die unsere soziale Welt und unsere Orientierung in Zeit und Raum in grundlegender Weise strukturieren und damit maßgebliche Ordnungsleistungen vollziehen. Unter „Ordnung“ verstehen wir ein unser Handeln strukturierendes System mit normativer Geltung, welches auf Grenzsetzungen basiert. Ordnungen und Grenzen sind daher untrennbar miteinander verbunden – was unsere Begriffsprägung „B/ORDERS“ auf den Punkt bringt. Dabei sehen wir Grenzen und Ordnungen keinesfalls als natürlich und gegeben an, sondern als Ergebnis sozialer Praxis und Sinnstiftung, das im ständigen Wandel, „im Werden“, „IN MOTION“ ist. Unser multidimensionaler Ansatz ist darauf ausgelegt, Grenz- und Ordnungskonfigurationen in ihrer Dynamik zu erfassen.

Indem wir nicht nur nationalstaatliche Grenzen und Ordnungen untersuchen, sondern ebenso soziale, kulturelle, juristische und ökonomische wie auch wissensbasierte B/ORDERS,  denken wir Ansätze der klassischen Border Studies weiter. Dies ermöglicht es auch, einen methodologischen Nationalismus zu vermeiden und der Komplexität von Grenz- und Ordnungsphänomenen Rechnung zu tragen, die durch globale Konfigurationen von Technologie, Wissen, Politik und Ökonomie signifikant werden.

Um die Herausbildung von Grenzen und Ordnungsmustern innovativ – auch in methodischer und theoretischer Hinsicht – zu erschließen und den komplexen Zusammenhang von Grenzen und Ordnungen angemessen zu erfassen, kommt der Interdisziplinarität der am Center angesiedelten Forschungen eine besondere Stellung zu. Neben der grundlagenbasierten Forschung im Gegenstandsbereich „Grenze“ führt das Center international ausgewiesene Forschungsschwerpunkte der Viadrina in den Gegenstandsbereichen „Migration“, „Arbeit“  und „Konflikt“ zusammen.

Die Forschungen am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION knüpfen an den Gründungsauftrag der Europa-Universität Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder) an und entwickeln ihn in inhaltlicher, methodischer und institutioneller Hinsicht weiter. Sie übertragen diesen zugleich in gegenwärtige und zukünftige Wissens- und Gesellschaftskontexte. Gelegen inmitten einer europäischen Metropolenregion und an alten nationalen Grenzen, stellt die Europa-Universität gleichsam die institutionelle Übersetzung der Gleichzeitigkeit einer Überlappung von Zentrum und Peripherie, von Nationalstaatlichkeit und Transnationalität, von Grenzziehung und Grenzauflösung dar. Der auf der Forschungslandkarte der HRK vermerkte Forschungsschwerpunkt „B/Orders in Motion" ist eines der zentralen Leitmotive für die weitere Profilierung der Europa-Universität Viadrina.

Die vier Gegenstandsbereiche der Forschungen am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

GRENZE

Der am Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION situierte Gegenstandsbereich „Grenze“ befasst sich mit der Erforschung von politisch-territorialen Grenzen, insbesondere von Nationalstaatsgrenzen, ebenso wie mit den oft miteinander verschränkten Grenzziehungen zwischen (Wirtschafts-)Organisationen, sozialen Gruppen, Ethnien, Generationen, Geschlechtern, als auch mit Wissensgrenzen. Dabei sehen wir die Zusammenführung der klassischen Border Studies – der Erforschung politisch-territorialer Grenzen – mit den sozio-kulturellen Boundary Studies – der Erforschung von sozio-kulturellen Grenzziehungen – als besonders relevant an, zumal die Verbindung dieser beiden Forschungsstränge in der internationalen Forschung noch viel zu wenig Berücksichtigung gefunden hat.

Für die Untersuchung des Verhältnisses von Grenze und Ordnung erscheinen drei zentrale Forschungs- und Analyseperspektiven besonders produktiv, die sich auch auf die anderen Gegenstandsbereiche (Arbeit, Migration, Konflikt) übertragen lassen:

a) Grenzen, Ordnungsvorstellungen und Grenzkonstellationen

Eine zentrale Perspektive ist es erstens, die hinter den Grenzziehungsprozessen liegenden Ordnungsvorstellungen und -systeme in den Blick zu nehmen, um ein tieferes Verständnis für die fraglichen Grenzen und Ordnungen zu entwickeln. Grenzen sind nicht nur Funktionen von Ordnungen, sondern auch in sich geordnet. Dabei stellt sich auch die Frage nach der Qualität der Grenzen an sich, wie z.B. ihrer Durabilität und Permeabilität.

Wenn wir Grenzen aus einer Ordnungsperspektive analysieren, treten die multidimensionalen Prozesse des Ordnens, Kategorisierens und Abgrenzens zutage, durch welche Objekte, Personen oder auch Zeiträume differenziert und oftmals hierarchisiert werden. Diese Prozesse basieren auf einem komplexen Zusammenspiel von Praktiken, Diskursen, Netzwerken und Infrastrukturen. Um Ordnungsbildung und (Wieder-)Herstellung erfahr- und analysierbar zu machen, ist es sinnvoll, Aushandlungs- und Transferprozesse in den Blick zu nehmen und zu fragen, wie diese von verschiedenen Akteuren mitgesteuert und erlebt werden. An nationalstaatlichen Grenzen spielt, z.B. im Bereich der Grenzsicherheit, eine heterogene Akteurskonstellation aus staatlichen, privaten und korporativen Akteuren eine Rolle, die mithilfe von verschiedenen Sicherheitsdiskursen und materiellen sowie nichtmateriellen Praktiken und Infrastrukturen die nationalstaatliche Grenzordnung konstituieren.

b) Das Zusammenspiel verschiedener Grenzziehungs- und Ordnungsdynamiken

Zweitens interessieren wir uns für das Zusammenspiel von Grenzziehungs- und Ordnungsdynamiken, die sich gegenseitig überlagern, verstärken oder auch auflösen können. Basierend auf der Erkenntnis, dass wir uns in unserer sozialen Welt auf verschiedene Ordnungen und Grenzen beziehen – neben den nationalen auch auf die europäischen und globalen Ordnungssysteme, und neben den politisch-territorialen auch auf rechtliche, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Grenzen – stellen wir die Frage, in welcher Beziehung diese verschiedenen Ordnungen und ihre Grenzen zueinander stehen. Wir können z.B. fragen, inwieweit an Grenzen verschiedene Ordnungen zusammentreffen, die in ein – hierarchisches oder auch anders geartetes – Verhältnis zueinander gebracht werden. Beispielsweise mag es relevant sein, ob eine politisch-territoriale Grenze mehrfach ordnungsdifferenzierend kodiert ist, indem sie nicht nur das nationalstaatliche Territorium definiert, sondern auch eine EU-Außengrenze darstellt.

c) Die Liminalität von Grenzen und die Neuschöpfung von Ordnungen

Drittens interessiert uns die Liminalität von Grenzen. Da Grenzen von verschiedenen Akteuren und Institutionen hergestellt werden, fällt auf, dass diese nicht immer eindeutig sind. Widersprüche und Konflikte können entstehen, wenn Ordnungen sich überlappen oder wenn Grenzen nicht eindeutig sind – wenn z.B. die politisch-territoriale Grenze nicht (eindeutig) mit einer Sprachgrenze zusammenfällt oder wenn globalisierte Wirtschaftsbeziehungen und transnationale soziale Verflechtungen nationalen Rechten und Sozialordnungen entgegenstehen. Aus der Überlappung von Ordnungssystemen können – zum Teil unintendiert – Grenzräume („borderlands“) oder auch Zwischenräume bzw. liminale Räume hervorgehen. Sie sind ambivalent: einerseits können sie Unsicherheiten, Entrechtungen und Prekarisierung hervorrufen. Andererseits sind sie produktive Möglichkeitsräume, aus denen neue Ordnungen – oder auch „dritte Ordnungen“, „hybride Ordnungen“ – hervorgehen können. Diese Prozesse des Neuordnens, der Neuschöpfung von Ordnungen können anhand einer Grenzperspektive analysiert werden. Da neue Ordnungen, die sich in liminalen Grenzzonen herausbilden, auch für die sogenannten „Zentren“ relevant werden können, ermöglicht es der Blick auf diese Zonen, Entwicklungen von allgemeiner Bedeutung zu antizipieren.

MIGRATION

Die interdisziplinären Forschungen zum Gegenstand „Migration“ am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION erschließen das Verhältnis von sozialen Ordnungen und Migration, das durch Grenzen konstituiert wird. Damit soll ein tieferes Verständnis für die Bedeutung von Grenzen für die Steuerung von menschlicher Mobilität und migrantischer Agency und die dadurch bedingte Veränderung von sozialer Ordnung erlangt werden.

Dabei interessiert uns, wie Grenzen „zu einer Methode“ werden, um Menschen zu kategorisieren und klassifizieren – z.B. entlang von Herkunft, Kultur, Ethnie, Gender, Bildung, Klasse und Arbeitsmarktnützlichkeit –, um ihre Mobilität zu kanalisieren und ihnen innerhalb einer Ordnung spezifische räumliche, soziale und zeitliche Positionierungen zuzuweisen. So wirken Staatsgrenzen wie semipermeable Membranen, die einigen Zugang und Rechte eröffnen, die sie anderen verwehren.

Grenzen sind hier wiederum nicht nur als politisch-territoriale zu verstehen. Vielmehr geht es auch um soziale und diskursive Grenzziehungen sowie um administrative Barrieren oder rechtliche Schranken, die zur staatlichen Einschließung und Ausgrenzung von Migrant*innen führen. Wenngleich innerhalb der EU die Funktion der Personenkontrolle weggefallen ist und politisch-territoriale Grenzen innerhalb der EU weniger wirkmächtig zu sein scheinen, treffen Migrant*innen auch jenseits der lokalisierbaren Staatsgrenzen auf vielfach gestaffelte Barrieren.

Von besonderem Interesse für unseren Ansatz ist die Frage, wie sich räumliche, soziale und temporale Dimensionen von Grenzen verschränken. So können territoriale Grenzen in temporaler Hinsicht die Geschwindigkeit von Mobilität beeinflussen und Migrant*innen in Wartepositionen halten. Transitzentren schaffen – politisch motiviert – für die unterschiedlichen Bewohner*innen eigene Zeit-Räume. Grenzen können auch Räume der Gewalt eröffnen, in denen Menschen für einen unbestimmten Zeitraum rechtlos sind. Weitere lokalisierbare Grenzen bestehen z.B. in städtischen und ländlichen Wohnvierteln, die sich durch unterschiedliche Infrastrukturen oder auch den sozialen Status ihrer Bewohner*innen unterscheiden.

Von weiterem Interesse ist die Frage nach den Grenzen zwischen verschiedenen Ordnungen, die sich entweder überlappen oder miteinander in Konflikt treten und die sich auf Migrant*innen und ihre Positionierungen in Ordnungssystemen auswirken können. Dies ist etwa der Fall, wenn nationalstaatliche Souveränitätsansprüche mit universalen Menschenrechten kollidieren.

ARBEIT

Die am Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION situierten interdisziplinären Forschungen zum Gegenstand „Arbeit“ gehen der Frage nach, durch welche Grenzziehungen und Grenzüberschreitungen (Erwerbs-)Arbeit bestimmt ist und inwieweit diese wiederum Organisationen, Unternehmen und Betriebe, aber auch (kulturelle, rechtliche, wirtschaftliche, soziale und politische) Ordnungen konstituieren. Dies wiederum stellt die Frage, wie Organisation und Ordnung zusammenhängen, z.B. durch die Bildung von Formen von Arbeit(s-Organisation), welche Zugang zu und Ausschluss von Arbeit und den jeweils mit „Arbeit“ in Verbindung stehenden sozialen Rechten regulieren.

Durch die Globalisierung von Wirtschaft und Kapital über staatlich-territoriale Grenzen hinweg und die damit verbundene Transnationalisierung von Arbeitsmärkten, z.B. durch Arbeitsmigration, ergibt sich auch die wichtige Forschungsfrage, wie sich dieses Zusammenspiel von Grenzüberschreitungen und Grenzziehungen auf die Organisation(en) von Arbeit und Arbeitnehmerrechten auswirkt bzw. ausgewirkt hat.

Neue Organisationsformen der Erwerbsarbeit im Zeitalter von Globalisierung, Digitalisierung und sich wandelnden Geschlechterordnungen werden oftmals durch den Begriff der „Entgrenzung“ („the boundaryless workplace“) beschrieben, sei es des Unter¬nehmens durch eine Entbetrieblichung der Beschäftigungsformen oder auch des Arbeitsortes und der Arbeits- und Freizeit durch die schwindende Abgrenzung von Privat- und Erwerbsleben. Interdisziplinäre Perspektiven auf die Organisationsformen der Erwerbsarbeit als Ordnung sowie auf die Grenzen dieser Ordnungen und auf Rechtsbegriffe als (Re-)Konstruktion solcher Grenzbestimmungen können hier innovative Einblicke eröffnen.

Ein wichtiges Forschungsfeld in diesem Zusammenhang beschäftigt sich mit den Fragen der rechtlichen Klassifizierung von abhängiger und selbstständiger Beschäftigung, mit der Erforschung von technologischem Wandel und neuen Managementstrategien und mit dem Wandel gesellschaftlicher Wertvorstellungen.

Von besonderem Interesse ist die Erforschung der ordnungsschaffenden Grenzen und der grenzbildenden Ordnungen privater Organisationen, insbesondere privatwirtschaftlicher Unternehmen und Betriebe. Interessant ist z.B. das Verhältnis der privatrechtlichen und vertraglich konstituierten Ordnungen privatwirtschaftlicher Unternehmen in Bezug zu staatlichen oder auch zu anderen Rechtsordnungen, also die Ausbildung von Grenzen privatwirtschaftlicher Unternehmen und anderer Organisationen der Erwerbsarbeit in „Mehrebenen“- oder rechts¬pluralistischen Systemen, in denen privates, staatliches, kirchliches und/oder internationales und supranationales/europäisches Recht ineinander greift.

KONFLIKT

Die am Center situierten interdisziplinären Forschungen zum Gegenstand „Konflikt“ haben das Ziel, die situative Kollision normativer Ansprüche zu analysieren und dabei neue Perspektiven auf die Wechselwirkung zwischen Ordnungs- und Grenzaushandlungen einzunehmen.

Konflikte eskalieren, weil in Aushandlungsprozessen zwischen Konfliktparteien bestimmte „rote Linien“ überschritten werden. Dies gibt Aufschlüsse über die normativen Ordnungsrahmen von Konfliktparteien und möglichen Drittparteien, die (neu) abgesteckt und ausgehandelt werden müssen. Die Forschungsgruppe „Tough Choices. Dilemmas and Decisions in Peacemaking“ identifiziert generalisierbare Akzeptanz- und Tragbarkeitsgrenzen, bei deren Überschreitungen einzelne Ordnungen ins Ungleichgewicht geraten oder in ihren Kernprinzipien kompromittiert werden.

Außerdem wird untersucht, ob es zu einer Hierarchisierung von Grundwerten und Handlungsnotwendigkeiten auf der Basis eines Mehrebenen-Systems kommt, was mit bestimmten Handlungs-Strategien oder auch einer Dilemma-Situation einhergehen kann. Grenzen sind immer interaktiv und involvieren verschiedene Akteure in unterschiedlichen Rollen: wie z.B. Regierungen, religiöse, moralische und politische Gruppierungen oder internationale Organisationen. Es geht also darum, die Perspektiven verschiedener Akteure besser in den Blick zu nehmen und nachzuvollziehen, wann und wie Grenzen innerhalb eines Konfliktverlaufs hergestellt werden und wann und wie sie (wieder) Wichtigkeit oder Unwichtigkeit erlangen.