Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Board of Directors

Prof. Dr. Jochen Koch

Prof. Dr. Jochen Koch

Vice Director of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Chair of Business Administration, esp. Management and Organization, European University Viadrina

The focus of my research is the investigation of organizational and strategic processes in corporations. The development and establishment of rules, routines and practices over the course of time are analyzed against the background of an interplay between intentional management and emergence. The concept of the border and the expanded conception of the border play a central role here, for in this sense management control means, first of all, border management as the perpetuation and further development of system borders, and thus of differences between the system and its environment.

Former Board of Directors

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schoor

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schoor

Former Director of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Axel Springer Endowed Chair for German-Jewish Literature and Cultural History, Exile and Migration, European University Viadrina

As a literary scholar, my interest is focused on processes of literary culture and communication in their spatial, performative, media and aesthetic dimensions. I concentrate on the scientific analysis of phenomena of cultural interactions and the shifting of aesthetic borders in literature in the context of questions about diaspora, exile and migration, that is, of social border phenomena par excellence, which are today, in the context of globalization debates, also being redefined theoretically in the discourses of literary scholarship.

Prof. Dr. Jan C. Joerden

Prof. Dr. Jan C. Joerden

Former Vice Director of the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Chair of Criminal Law, esp. International Criminal Law and Comparative Criminal Law, Philosophy of Law, European University Viadrina

A first emphasis of my research work is on comparative criminal law, with the goal of formulating general principles for an internationalization of criminal law that surmounts national borders. This work also references the criminal law issues in the direct border regions between states (especially Poland/Germany) ("Criminality in the Border Region"). These studies further require an analysis of the ethical convictions decisive for each national criminal justice system.

A second research emphasis concerns the investigation of the ethical framing conditions for modern developments in medical technology, which increasingly seem to call into question the previously firmly established borders of the human species (as through the creation of so-called chimeras and hybrids, concepts of post-humanism, nanotechnology, etc.).

Prof. Dr. Annette Werberger

Prof. Dr. Annette Werberger

Former Director, Promotion for early career scholars at the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Chair of Literary Studies: East European Literatures, European University Viadrina

I bring together ideas and concepts of "B/Orders in Motion" with my scientific work as a cultural scientist and literary scholar at the Viadrina at a variety of levels: For instance, in narratological theory, the crossing of a border is the fundamental event of any narration. In recent years, the negotiation and deliberate drawing of social, religious, linguistic or institutional borders has determined my research on the continental empires of central and eastern Europe (the Russian and Austro-Hungarian empires). A third concern of my work investigating borders is constant reflection on disciplinary borders and history of science.

Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Ehemalige Leitung

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schoor

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schoor

Ehemalige Leiterin des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Axel Springer-Stiftungsprofessur für deutsch-jüdische Literatur- und Kulturgeschichte, Exil und Migration der Europa-Universität Viadrina

Mein Interesse als Literaturwissenschaftlerin ist auf Prozesse literarischer Kultur und Kommunikation in ihren räumlichen, performativen, medialen und ästhetischen Dimensionen gerichtet. Ich widme mich der wissenschaftlichen Analyse von Phänomenen kultureller Interaktionen und ästhetischer Grenzverschiebungen in der Literatur im Kontext von Fragen nach Diaspora, Exil und Migration, also von sozialen Grenzphänomenen par excellence, die heute im Rahmen der Globalisierungsdebatten auch in literaturwissenschaftlichen Diskursen theoretisch neu beschrieben werden.

Prof. Dr. Jochen Koch

Prof. Dr. Jochen Koch

Ehemaliger stellvertretender Leiter des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Lehrstuhl für Betriebswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Unternehmensführung und Organisation der Europa-Universität Viadrina
Schwerpunkt meiner Forschung stellt die Untersuchung organisatorischer und strategischer Prozesse in Unternehmen dar. Die Herausbildung und Etablierung von Regeln, Routinen und Praktiken im Zeitablauf werden vor dem Hintergrund eines Zusammenspiels von intentionaler Steuerung und Emergenz analysiert. Hierbei spielen der Grenzbegriff als auch ein erweitertes Verständnis der Grenze eine zentrale Rolle, denn Unternehmenssteuerung bedeutet in diesem Sinne zuallererst Grenzmanagement als Aufrechterhaltung und Fortentwicklung von Systemgrenzen und damit von System-Umwelt-Differenzen.
Prof. Dr. Jan C. Joerden

Prof. Dr. Jan C. Joerden

Ehemaliger stellvertretender Leiter des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Lehrstuhl für Strafrecht, insbesondere Internationales Strafrecht und Strafrechtsvergleichung, Rechtsphilosophie der Europa-Universität Viadrina

Ein erster Schwerpunkt meiner Forschungen liegt auf der Strafrechtsvergleichung mit dem Ziel, allgemeine Grundsätze für eine die nationalen Grenzen überwindende Internationalisierung des Strafrechts zu formulieren. Dabei wird auch auf die strafrechtlichen Probleme im unmittelbaren Grenzbereich zwischen den Staaten (insbes. Polen/Deutschland) Bezug genommen („Kriminalität im Grenzgebiet"). Diese Untersuchungen erfordern zudem eine Analyse der für die nationalen Strafrechtsordnungen jeweils maßgebenden ethischen Überzeugungen.

Ein zweiter Forschungsschwerpunkt bezieht sich auf die Untersuchung der ethischen Rahmenbedingungen für die modernen medizintechnischen Entwicklungen, die zunehmend die bisher fest gefügten Grenzen der menschlichen Spezies infrage zu stellen scheinen (etwa durch sog. Chimären- und Hybridbildung, Konzepte des Posthumanismus, Nanotechnologie etc.).

Prof. Dr. Annette Werberger

Prof. Dr. Annette Werberger

Ehemalige Leiterin der Nachwuchsförderung des Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Professur für Literaturwissenschaft: osteuropäische Literaturen

Ich führe Ideen und Konzepte von „B/Orders in Motion" auf verschiedenen Ebenen mit meinem wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten als Kultur- und Literaturwissenschaftlerin an der Viadrina eng: So ist beispielsweise die Durchquerung einer Grenze in der narratologischen Theorie das Grundereignis jeglichen Erzählens. Das Aushandeln und bewusste Schließen von sozialen, religiösen, sprachlichen oder institutionellen Grenzen bestimmte hingegen in den letzten Jahren meine Forschungen zu den europäischen Kontinentalimperien Mittel- und Osteuropas (Russisches Reich und Österreich-Ungarn). Als dritter Punkt meines grenzforschenden Arbeitens ist mir die beständige Reflexion von disziplinären Grenzen und Wissenschaftsgeschichte ein Anliegen.