The 6th Annual Conference of the Kulturwissenschaftliche Gesellschaft (KWG) with the title B/ORDERING CULTURES: EVERYDAY LIFE, POLITICS, AESTHETICS will focus on the interplay of borders and orders from the perspective of cultural studies. The Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION together with the KWG section Cultural Border Studies invite you to Frankfurt (Oder) on the German-Polish border to engage in vivid discussions on this highly relevant and debated subject. From 8 to 10 October 2020, a range of border and order concepts will be put up for discussion: possible interrelations between socio-symbolic, aesthetic-material and political-territorial notions of borders and orders as well as micro- and macro-perspectives on these phenomena will be key elements of our reflections.

Bordering as a core concept and term takes up the focus in the Border Studies and points toward the discursive and practical establishment as well as the structural dynamics of demarcation and ordering processes. We invite researchers to the border town to discuss border relations, their conditions, means of establishment, and order generating effects. How do orders, essentially defined by differentiation, deploy their weight through the interplay of these constituting elements?

Everyday life, politics and aesthetics form socially relevant domains of border/order relationships. Aesthetic-performative practices of exclusion and inclusion or temporal demarcations as a structuring element of everyday life only suggest possible access points to examine orders of interaction, gendered or even political orders in their effects on everyday life.

Panel proposals that examine questions of border AND order research from a cultural studies perspective in one of the fields mentioned are particularly welcome. In addition to questions of content, the focus will also include the following methodological perspectives on orders and borders:

  • How can we look at the borders of orders and analytically approach overlaps and pluralities of the manifold ordering structures?
  • In which way can we describe processes of demarcation, border negotiations and dissolutions as social practice and in their ordered nature from the viewpoint of cultural studies?
  • How can we encounter the binary doctrine inherent in logics of border(ing) and order(ing) to reveal dynamic interrelations and shifts between demarcations and structural order (In-betweenness)?

The Call for Panels is addressed to researchers in social sciences, politics, history, linguistics and literature who see themselves as part of cultural sciences in their broader sense. Proposals for thematic sessions are invited to employ one or more of the areas of interest mentioned above, although the list may be extended.

The duration of a panel is two hours. There will be separate time within the programme for meetings of the KWG sections. It is recommended to organize a panel around three to four lectures, so that the lecture slots each comprise 20 minutes of presentation + 10 minutes of discussion. The conference language is German, but other languages are welcome. Panel proposals are requested by 15.09.2019 to kwg20@europa-uni.de in the form of a PDF file. The proposals should contain the following data:

  • Abstract (approx. 300-500 words excluding references)
  • Optional: List of speakers for your panel. Names and place of origin of the speakers invited from abroad with the addition "asked" or "confirmed" if they need funding. We will make every effort to provide (partial) travel cost support for foreign participants. For organisational reasons, we must receive the names of the speakers to be funded by 15.09.2019. We regret that we will not be able to consider later nominations of persons for sponsoring.

Feedback on your panel proposal can be expected by 15. October 2019.

Further information about the conference will follow shortly.

Contact:
Maria Klessmann (kwg20@europa-uni.de)

https://www.borders-in-motion.de/

Organisation
Konstanze Jungbluth
European University Viadrina

Claudia Weber
European University Viadrina

Maria Klessmann
European University Viadrina

Carolin Leutloff-Grandits
European University Viadrina

Andrea Meissner
European University Viadrina

Der Call ist geschlossen. Mit einer Rückmeldung ist voraussichtlich Ende November zu rechnen. Weitere Informationen zur Tagung folgen in Kürze.

Unter dem Titel B/ORDERING CULTURES: ALLTAG, POLITIK, ÄSTHETIK nimmt die 6. Jahrestagung der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Gesellschaft (KWG) das Wechselspiel von Grenzen und Ordnungen aus Sicht der Kulturwissenschaften in den Blick. Zu diesem auch gesellschaftspolitisch hoch aktuellen und in jüngster Zeit wieder sehr brisant diskutierten Thema lädt das Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION in Kooperation mit der KWG-Sektion „Kulturwissenschaftliche Border Studies“ in die an der Oder gelegene Grenzstadt. Vom 8.-10. Oktober 2020 wird eine Bandbreite von Grenz- und Ordnungsbegriffen zur Diskussion gestellt: sozio-symbolische, ästhetisch-materielle und politisch-territoriale Grenz- und Ordnungsvorstellungen werden genauso miteinander in Verbindung gesetzt wie Mikro- und Makroperspektiven auf diese Phänomene.

Der zentral gesetzte Begriff des Bordering schließt dabei an den seit den 2000er Jahren in den Border Studies verbreiteten Fokus auf die diskursive und praktische Herstellung und die damit einhergehende Dynamik von Grenz- und Ordnungsprozessen an. Wir laden Forscherinnen und Forscher ein, hier an der deutsch-polnischen Grenze Grenzziehungen in ihren Bedingungen, Herstellungsweisen und Ordnung generierenden Effekten zu diskutieren. Wie entfalten Ordnungen, die maßgeblich über die Markierung von Differenzen konstituiert werden, im Wechselspiel dieser Unterscheidungen ihre Bedeutung/en?

Alltag, Politik und Ästhetik bilden hierbei gesellschaftlich relevante Domänen der Bearbeitung von Grenz/Ordnungsverhältnissen. Interaktionsordnungen, Geschlechterordnungen oder auch politische Ordnungen in ihren Effekten für alltägliches Handeln, ästhetisch-performative Praktiken der Ab- und Ausgrenzung oder auch temporale Grenzziehungen als den Alltag strukturierendes Moment sollen hier als mögliche Themenstellungen nur angedeutet sein.

Panelvorschläge, die Fragen der Grenz- UND Ordnungsforschung aus einer kulturwissenschaftlichen Perspektive in einem der genannten Felder beleuchten, sind besonders willkommen. Neben inhaltlichen Fragen soll der Fokus auch die folgenden methodologischen Perspektiven auf Ordnungen und Grenzen umfassen:

  • Wie können wir auf die Grenzen von Ordnungen schauen und den Überlappungen, Überlagerungen sowie der Pluralität verschiedener Ordnungsstrukturen analytisch begegnen?
  • Wie können Grenzziehungen, Grenzverhandlungen und Grenzauflösungen als soziale Praxis in ihrer eigenen Geordnetheit aus kulturwissenschaftlicher Perspektive adäquat beschrieben werden?
  • Wie kann der sonst so dominanten Zweiwertigkeit der Grenz- und Ordnungslogiken entgegen getreten werden, so dass auch Dynamiken und Prozesse zwischen Grenzziehungen und Ordnungsstrukturen sichtbar werden (In betweenness)?

Der Call for Panels richtet sich an Forscherinnen und Forscher der Sozial-, Politik-, Geschichts-, Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaften, die sich als Teil der Kulturwissenschaften in einem breiten Sinne verstehen. Gefragt wird nach Vorschlägen für thematische Panel-Sessions in einem oder mehreren der oben genannten Spannungsfelder, wobei die Liste gerne erweitert werden darf.

Die Dauer eines Panels beträgt zwei Stunden. Für die Treffen der KWG-Sektionen wird es innerhalb des Programms gesondert Zeit geben. Empfohlen wird ein Panel mit drei bis vier Vorträgen zu besetzen, so dass die Vortragsslots jeweils 20 Minuten Präsentation + 10 Minuten Diskussion umfassen. Tagungssprache ist Deutsch, aber andere Sprachen sind willkommen. Panelvorschläge erbitten wir bis zum 15.09.2019 an kwg20@europa-uni.de in der Form einer PDF-Datei. Die Vorschläge sollten bitte folgende Daten enthalten:

  • Abstract (ca. 300–500 Wörter exklusive Literaturangaben)
  • Optional: Liste der Referent*innen für Ihr Panel.
    Namen und Herkunftsort der einzuladenden Referenten*innen  aus dem Ausland mit dem Zusatz „angefragt“ oder „zugesagt“, sofern diese finanziell gefördert werden sollen. Wir werden uns bemühen, eine (Teil-)Reisekostenförderung für ausländische Teilnehmer*innen zu ermöglichen. Die Namen der zu fördernden Referent*innen müssen uns aus organisatorischen Gründen bis zum 15.09.2019 vorliegen. Spätere Nennungen zu fördernder Personen können wir leider nicht berücksichtigen.

Kontakt:
Maria Klessmann (kwg20@europa-uni.de)

https://www.borders-in-motion.de/

Organisation
Konstanze Jungbluth
Europa-Universität Viadrina

Claudia Weber
Europa-Universität Viadrina

Maria Klessmann
Europa-Universität Viadrina

Carolin Leutloff-Grandits
Europa-Universität Viadrina

Andrea Meissner
Europa-Universität Viadrina