Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Perceiving and negotiating borders in conversations. VIAgg nad odra

  • Prof. Dr. Konstanze Jungbluth, jungbluth@europa-uni.de
  • Prof. Dr. Nicole Richter, nrichter@europa-uni.de
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Dost, dost@europa-uni.de
  • Maria Klessmann, M.A.
  • Slavena Korsun, M.A.
  • Dominik Gerst, M. A.
  • Prof. Dr. Jacek Sójka, Intercultural Communication in Management
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Kirchhoff und Dr. Anne Kraus, Institut für Konfliktmanagement an der EUV
European University Viadrina
January 2014 - December 2016

Located in the Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION, this graduate program brings together three dissertation proposals (on the topics of conversational production of borders in a borderlands discourse of security, the negotiation of ethnic membership in (roma-)mediations, and of ideas management at the border between art and economy).

Along with developing the research projects, the program also focusses on both the empirical and conceptual work of a general theory of borders. A step by step approximation occurs along the guiding "border dimensions" of durability, permeability and liminality. Structuring the juxtaposition and comparison of the proposals, they help to identify links which will set grounds for exchange. These are: 1. The durability of borders as the value of the perception of borders. Durability describes the recognition and acceptance of borders and the claim of a productive difference. 2. The permeability of borders is typified in the figure of the border crosser. This figure is able to cross borders, and in turn to fulfill a translating and mediating role in enabling cross-border exchange. 3. The liminality of borders, which is preconditioned by some kind of outsider. Can borderlands, situational categories of membership or forms of organisation in-between art and economy be described as liminal phenomena that give space to novel forms of practice?

The basis for this joint research is the "Gemeinsame Empirische Datenbasis (GEDgg)" (joint empirical database) which brings together oral and written language data which will be collected in different "border situations" and aims to encourage multidisciplinary perspectives and interpretations.

Projektbeschreibung auf Deutsch

 

The project’s site on the digital platform B/ORDER STUDIES

Viadrina Center B/ORDERS IN MOTION

Grenzen in Gesprächen wahrnehmen - Grenzen diskursiv verhandeln. VIAgg nad odra

  • Prof. Dr. Konstanze Jungbluth, jungbluth@europa-uni.de
  • Prof. Dr. Nicole Richter, nrichter@europa-uni.de
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Dost, dost@europa-uni.de
  • Maria Klessmann, M.A.
  • Slavena Korsun, M.A.
  • Dominik Gerst, M. A.
  • Prof. Dr. Jacek Sójka, Intercultural Communication in Management
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Kirchhoff und Dr. Anne Kraus, Institut für Konfliktmanagement an der EUV
Europa-Universität Viadrina
Januar 2014 - Dezember 2016

Das Graduiertenkolleg ist im Rahmen des Viadrina Centers B/ORDERS IN MOTION entstanden und stellt im Kern die Bündelung dreier Dissertationsvorhaben (zum Sicherheitsdiskurs in einer territorialen Grenzregion, zur Aushandlung ethnischer Zugehörigkeit in (Roma-) Mediationen und zum Ideenmanagement an der Grenze zwischen Kunst und Ökonomie) dar.

Neben der Bearbeitung der einzelnen Forschungsvorhaben steht die gemeinsame empirische wie begriffliche Arbeit an der Theorie der Grenze im Zentrum. Eine schrittweise Annäherung erfolgt über die leitenden "Grenzdimensionen" Durabilität, Permeabilität und Liminalität. Sie zeigen beim Vergleich und der gemeinsamen Betrachtung der Vorhaben Schnittstellen auf, über die der Austausch erfolgen kann und soll. Diese sind: 1. Die Durabilität von Grenzen als Wert der Grenzwahrnehmungen. Sie beschreibt die Anerkennung der Grenze als Grenze und das Geltendmachen einer Differenz, die produktiv wirkt. 2. Die Permeabilität der Grenze, versinnbildlicht in der Figur der/s Grenzgängers/n. Diese kann/können Grenzen überschreiten und so die wichtige Funktion von Übersetzern und Vermittlern einnehmen und dadurch grenzüberschreitenden Austausch ermöglichen. 3. Die Liminalität, die ihre grundsätzlichen Bedingungen im Vorhandensein eines "Außenseiters" findet. Können territoriale Grenzregionen, situative Identitätsverhandlungen oder Organisationsformen zwischen Kunst und Ökonomie als "Drittes" verstanden werden, das neuartige Formen der Praxis ermöglicht?

Die Grundlage der Forschungsanstrengungen bildet die Gemeinsame Empirische Datenbasis (GEDgg), die mündliche und schriftliche Sprachdaten – gesammelt in unterschiedlichen "Grenzsituationen" – zusammenbringen wird und multidisziplinäre Perspektiven und Interpretationen anregen soll.

Project description in English